FAQs

Q?

Is the initial consultation free of charge?

A.

The initial consultation costs €120.00, incl. 20% VAT.

Q?

Do I still need to pay the defence counsel if I have legal protection insurance?

A.

In essence, yes – at least, his/her fees must be paid by the end of the criminal proceedings. In the case of a retrospective confirmation of cover by legal protection insurance, the costs are to be borne in their entirety or at least in their majority, according to the agreement with the defence counsel.

Q?

What is the difference between a criminal defence lawyer (defence counsel in criminal matters) and an attorney?

A.

An attorney is also a criminal defence lawyer, but a criminal defence lawyer is not automatically an attorney: In simple terms, a criminal defence lawyer has the same role as an attorney, but this is limited exclusively to defending clients in criminal matters.

While an attorney also disputes civil procedures, represents in administrative procedures and criminal matters, I am exclusively active in defending clients in legal criminal matters.

Q?

Will my employer learn of my criminal proceedings?

A.

In principal, no. It is only in the case of civil servants where there is an obligation to notify employers.

Q?

Will a criminal defence lawyer still represent me if he knows I am guilty and have perhaps even committed an abhorrent crime?

A.

If the criminal defence lawyer is a professional that should not present any problem. Nevertheless, there have been instances where clients have come to me having already tried their luck with other attorneys/criminal defence lawyers who had refused to represent them.

However, as a professional I can distinguish very well between the crime and the perpetrator: the accused is a person too and one of his/her fundamental human rights is the right to a fair trial (Art. 6 ECHM, fair trial).

Particularly in morally disgusting crimes, the emotions of police officers, judges and attorneys can also run high and this presents the criminal defence lawyer with a very important corrective, in order that the necessary objectivity is not thrown overboard entirely.

It is therefore not my position to play the upholder of moral standards, but to observe and adhere to the Criminal Code of Procedure.

Q?

Can I rely on my lawyer/criminal defence lawyer to always tell me the truth?

A.

I assume this to be the case, however I can only speak for myself. My principle concerning this is as follows: It goes with the job that I occasionally have to heavily “stretch” the truth when speaking FOR my clients, however when speaking TO my clients, I always have to tell the truth!

FAQs

F?

Ist das Erstberatungsgespräch kostenlos?

A.

Das Erstberatungsgespräch beträgt pauschal 120;-- inkl. 20% USt.

F?

Muss ich den Strafverteidiger auch dann bezahlen, wenn ich eine Rechtsschutzversicherung habe?

A.

Grundsätzlich ja – zumindest sind seine Kosten bis zum Ende des Strafverfahrens zu akontieren. Im Fall einer nachträglichen Deckungszusage durch eine Rechtsschutzversicherung werden die Kosten je nach Vereinbarung mit dem Strafverteidiger zur Gänze oder zumindest zum Großteil getragen.

F?

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen einem Strafverteidiger (Verteidiger in Strafsachen) und einem Rechtsanwalt?

A.

Ein Anwalt ist auch gleichzeitig Strafverteidiger, ein Strafverteidiger aber nicht automatisch Rechtsanwalt: Vereinfacht gesagt macht ein Strafverteidiger dasselbe wie ein Rechtsanwalt, allerdings beschränkt ausschließlich auf die Verteidigung in Strafsachen.

Während ein Anwalt daher auch Zivilprozesse bestreitet, in Verwaltungsverfahren und Strafverfahren vertritt, beschäftige ich mich ausschließlich mit der Verteidigung in gerichtlichen Strafsachen.

F?

Erfährt mein Dienstgeber von meinem Strafverfahren?

A.

Nein, grundsätzlich nicht. Nur bei öffentlichen Bediensteten sehen die dienstrechtlichen Bestimmungen Meldepflichten vor.

F?

Vertritt mich ein Strafverteidiger auch dann, wenn er weiß, dass ich schuldig bin und vielleicht sogar ein abscheuliches Verbrechen begangen habe?

A.

Wenn der Strafverteidiger ein Profi ist, sollte das kein Problem darstellen. Bei mir sind allerdings auch schon Mandanten gelandet, die ihr Glück zuvor schon bei mehreren anderen Anwälten / Strafverteidigern versucht hatten, die die Vertretung aber abgelehnt hatten.

Als Profi kann ich aber sehr wohl zwischen der Tat und dem Täter unterscheiden: Auch ein Angeklagter ist ein Mensch und eines seiner elementarsten Menschenrechte ist eben das Recht auf ein faires Verfahren (Artikel 6 EMRK, fair trial).

Gerade bei moralisch empörenden Verbrechen können die Emotionen auch bei Polizisten, Richtern und Staatsanwälten hochgehen und stellt der Strafverteidiger ein ganz wichtiges Korrektiv dar, damit die erforderliche Objektivität nicht gänzlich über Bord geworfen wird.

Meine Aufgabe ist es also nicht, den Moralapostel zu spielen, sondern auf die Einhaltung der Strafprozessordnung zu achten.

F?

Kann ich mich darauf verlassen, dass mir mein Anwalt / Strafverteidiger immer die Wahrheit sagt?

A.

Ich gehe davon aus, kann aber natürlich nur für mich sprechen. Mein Grundsatz diesbezüglich lautet: Berufsbedingt muss ich FÜR meine Klienten manchmal die Wahrheit heftig „dehnen”,GEGENÜBER meinen Mandanten aber muss ich immer die Wahrheit sagen!